Our goal is to be the premier water service company and wastewater treatment provider in Northwestern Ohio. We are committed to sound financial management, responsible environmental stewardship, responsive public service, superior customer service, and responsible economic growth.  We strive to field a skilled, respectful, and cooperative workforce dedicated to the highest professional and ethical standards; we support them with appropriate training and technology.

Entire northwestern water team in front of the sign.


The Northwestern Water & Sewer District (referred to as “The District”) is a regional water and sewer district chartered under section 6119 of the Ohio Revised Code. Organized in 1994 to take over the water and sewer operations of the Wood County Sanitary Engineer, The District is specifically intended to meet the following goals within our service area:

  • To establish a uniform water distribution and wastewater collection system
  • To create uniform and equitable rates
  • To provide uniform services
  • To institute consistent regulatory authority for water and wastewater services

By combining systems to share operation and maintenance costs, the District is able to provide professional management and experienced service personnel throughout our service area.

Our membership currently includes 19 townships in Wood County, part of Scott Township in Sandusky County, and 14 municipalities, including the Village of McComb in Hancock County, and the Village of McClure in Henry County.  We also operate water or sewer systems in several additional non-member municipalities on a contract basis. Click here for a map showing our service area and membership.


The District began operations in 1994, and was initiated by multiple townships and county entities. Click on the link for an article entitiled, A Brief History of the District.

We also have a brief YouTube video from one of our long-time trustees talking about the economic development concerns that helped to spur the creation of the District.