Board of Trustees

A ten-member Board of Trustees oversees The District, with each trustee serving a three-year term.  Three of the trustees are appointed by the Wood County Commissioners, one is appointed by the Henry County Commissioners, three are selected by the township members of The District, and three are chosen by the municipal members of The District. Township and municipal membership in The District is shown on our membership map.

Board meetings are held in person and are open to the public on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of each month beginning at 7:30 a.m.

The District also allows you to join via Zoom:  CLICK HERE FOR LINK during scheduled meeting time and use Password: 664391

The meetings can be listened to by dialing 1-301-715-8592. When prompted, use ID: 876 8469 6892 and Password: 664391

The system will allow the public to listen to the meetings, but cannot accommodate audience participation.

Any individuals who have questions or concerns that they would like addressed by the District Board are urged to submit their questions in advance of the meetings to

The agendas and minutes for each meeting are posted on our website (click here).  Current members of the Board of Trustees are listed below.

2021 District Board of Trustees General Information, Mission, and Responsibilities.

Mark Sheffer

Municipal Appointment
Mark Sheffer currently serves as the Chairperson for The District’s Board of Trustees.  He also serves on the IT Committee, the Public Relations Committee, and chairs the Finance Committee.  His current term expires in December 2024.

Mr. Sheffer lives in Weston and is a lifelong resident of Wood County.  He retired from Huntington Auto Finance, with 36 years of business experience.  He also taught at Elmwood High School and served on Weston Village Council for over sixteen years.

J. Douglas Miller, P.E.

Commissioner Appointment
Mr. Miller resides in Perrysburg Township. His current term expires in December 2024. Mr. Miller is a mechanical engineer and a lawyer. He is a partner and patent attorney in the law firm of Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP in Toledo, Ohio, and is the national service line leader for the Intellectual Property service line. Prior to practicing law, he spent over ten years working as an engineer with experience in chemical process engineering, fluid handling systems including piping and tank design, water and wastewater treatment, and environmental engineering. He is also President of the Board for the Wood County Economic Development Commission. Mr. Miller is a licensed professional engineer in the State of Ohio.

Melinda Kale

Township Appointment
Melinda Kale lives in Rudolph, Ohio.  Her current term expires in December 2020.  Ms. Kale is the Chief Executive Officer at Work Leads to Independence (WLI), a nonprofit organization delivering services to people with disabilities throughout Northwest Ohio. She also serves on several community boards and community organizations such as:  The Governor’s Council of People With Disabilities, Bowling Green Chamber of Commerce Board of Trustees, and the Liberty Township Memorial Association.


Steve Arnold

Township Appointment
Mr. Arnold resides in Bloom Township. He started at the District when he filled the term left by retired member, Bill Davis in 2014. His current term expires in 2024. Steve has spent his entire career in banking and finances, working for MidAm Bank for ten years and opening up an Edward Jones Investment office in 1996.

John A. Cheney

Commissioner Appointment
Mr. Cheney resides in Henry Township.  A founding member of the District’s Board, he has served on the Board of Trustees since July 1992.  He has previously served as Board Chairman, and his current term expires in December 2022.  John also served as past President of the Hancock-Wood Electric Cooperative, where he began his service in 1981.

Brooke Hahn

Brooke Hahn
Township Appointment

Brooke Hahn lives in Troy Township, Ohio.  Her current term expires in December 2022.  Ms. Hahn is a former paraprofessional educator at Eastwood Local Schools.  Her previous work experience includes handling transportation product logistics as well as inventory for L & L Plating and Packaging Inc., and The Andersons.   She is an active community member, volunteer, and serves on the board for her local church.

William J. Hirzel

Commissioner Appointment
Mr. Hirzel resides in Lake Township. His current term expires in December 2020. Mr. Hirzel is Treasurer of Hirzel Canning Company. He currently serves on the Public Relations Committee, and he chairs the Administration and Watershed Committees.

Bill Barnhart

Municipal Appointment
Mr. Barnhart currently serves as the Vice President of Engineering and Operations for the Hancock Wood Electric Cooperative.   He is a registered electrical engineer in the State of Ohio and has worked in the electric utility industry for over 20 years.  Bill currently lives in Weston and also served on the Village of Weston’s council for four years.

Bill was appointed by The District’s municipal members and his term will expire in 2023.

Tim Phillips

Mr. Phillips was recently appointed to The District’s Board of Trustees by the Henry County Commissioners.

Mr. Phillips served on the Board of Trustees at the Henry County Regional Water & Sewer District.  He also spent over 40 years as the Water and Sewer Superintendent in the Village of Hamler.  He currently resides in the Village of Hamler.  Mr. Phillips will serve a three-year term.

Chuck Latta

Mr. Latta was appointed in August 2020 to the Board of Trustees by the 17 municipalities within The District.

Mr. Latta most recently served as the mayor of the Village of McComb, in Hancock County.  The Village joined The District in 2016.  Prior to his public service, he worked for over 35 years as a health care executive, managing clinical and administrative areas for senior living centers throughout the Midwest.  Chuck currently resides in the Village of McComb.  Latta will serve a three-year term.

Board Membership

The District’s ten-member Board of Trustees provides ongoing financial and strategic oversight and direction to advance the mission of NWWSD.  In support of their responsibilities, the Board will ensure that personnel, processes, and an organizational structure are in place within both the Board and senior management to carry out the goals of the organization. The Board will foster appropriate communication and interaction with management, the community, and various governmental entities to ensure that the mission of NWWSD is successful.

If you are interested in serving on the District’s Board of Trustees, the following links will be helpful:

Board Brochure
Board bylaws
Board member application

It is desirable for members of the Board of Trustees to

  • Have working knowledge of the industry
  • Offer appropriate government or business experience
  • Have a demonstrated level of business financial acumen
  • Be a resident of the district
  • Not be an elected official
  • Be available for routine board meetings (2 per month) during the work day
  • Serve on committees and be available to attend committee meetings (2-3 per month) during the work day
  • Be available during daytime for occasional tours, projects, etc.
  • Be willing to participate in BOT education programs
  • Exhibit strong communication skills, be a proactive contributor of ideas, and be a critical thinker
  • Be able to provide leadership and direction for the District
  • Actively promote the activities of the District in the community
  • Be capable of working as a member of the Board of Trustees team
  • Be conversant with technology & modern communication devices

For more information, please contact the District’s President, Jerry Greiner, at 419.354.9090, extension 194.